The Kimberley process

The Kimberley Process began when the diamond producing states of Southern Africa met in Kimberley, South Africa in May 2000 to discuss ways to stop the trade in "war diamonds" and s 'ensure that diamond purchases do not finance the violence of rebel movements and their allies seeking to undermine legitimate governments.

The Kimberley Process is an international certification system that regulates the trade in rough diamonds. It aims to prevent the flow of diamonds from countries at war, while helping to protect the legitimate trade in rough diamonds. The Kimberley Process Certification System (KPCS) defines the rules that govern the trade in rough diamonds. The KPCS has developed a set of minimum requirements that each participant must meet. The KP is not, strictly speaking, an international organization: it does not have permanent offices or permanent staff. It is based on contributions - according to the principle of "burden sharing" - of participants, supported by observers from industry and civil society. Nor can the KP be regarded as an international agreement from a legal point of view, as it is implemented through the national laws of its participants.

Participants in the Kimberley Process (KP) are states and regional economic integration organizations that are eligible to trade in rough diamonds. There are 56 participants representing 82 countries, the European Community counting as one participant. Participants include all major producing, exporting and importing countries of rough diamonds. The diamond industry, through the World Diamond Council, and civil society groups are also an integral part of the KP. These organizations have been involved from the start and continue to contribute to its implementation and effective monitoring.

82 governments have enshrined the Kimberley Process Certification System (KPCS) in law. Today, 99.8% of the world's diamonds come from conflict-free sources. However, even a single conflict diamond is one too many, the international diamond industry continues to work with governments, NGOs and the United Nations to strengthen the Kimberley Process and its safeguards system.

Le processus Kimberley 

Le Processus de Kimberley a commencé lorsque les États producteurs de diamants d'Afrique australe se sont réunis à Kimberley, en Afrique du Sud, en mai 2000, pour discuter des moyens d'arrêter le commerce des «diamants de la guerre» et de s'assurer que les achats de diamants ne finançaient pas la violence des mouvements rebelles et de leurs alliés cherchant a saper les gouvernements légitimes.

Le Processus de Kimberley est un système de certification international qui réglemente le commerce des diamants bruts. Il vise à empêcher le flux de diamants de pays en guerre, tout en contribuant à protéger le commerce légitime des diamants bruts. Le système de certification du processus de Kimberley (KPCS) définit les règles qui régissent le commerce des diamants bruts. Le KPCS a développé un ensemble d'exigences minimales que chaque participant doit satisfaire. Le KP n'est pas à proprement parler une organisation internationale: il n'a pas de bureaux permanents ni de personnel permanent. Il s'appuie sur les contributions - selon le principe du «partage des charges» - des participants, soutenues par les observateurs de l'industrie et de la société civile. Le KP ne peut pas non plus être considéré comme un accord international d'un point de vue juridique, car il est mis en œuvre par le biais des législations nationales de ses participants.

Les participants au Processus de Kimberley (PK) sont des États et des organisations d'intégration économique régionale qui sont éligibles au commerce des diamants bruts. Il y a 56 participants représentant 82 pays, la Communauté européenne comptant comme un seul participant. Les participants comprennent tous les principaux pays producteurs, exportateurs et importateurs de diamants bruts. L'industrie du diamant, à travers le World Diamond Council, et les groupes de la société civile font également partie intégrante du PK. Ces organisations sont impliquées depuis le début et continuent de contribuer à sa mise en œuvre et à son suivi efficace.

82 gouvernements ont inscrit le système de certification du processus de Kimberley (KPCS) dans la loi. Aujourd'hui, 99,8% des diamants du monde proviennent de sources sans conflit. Cependant, même un seul diamant de conflit est un diamant de trop, l'industrie internationale du diamant continue de travailler avec les gouvernements, les ONG et l'ONU pour renforcer le Processus de Kimberley et son système de garanties.